Prime minister of Ethiopia Abiy Ahmed is awarded the Nobel Peace prize for his efforts to “achieve peace and international cooperation”.

With a total of 301 candidates nominated for this prestigious award including 223 individuals and 78 organisations there has been much speculation over who would win the prize. Especially with discussions tipping toward crowd favourite and climate activist Greta Thunberg.

The Nobel committee has announced in a statement that Mr Abiy was awarded for his “decisive initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighbouring Eritrea.”

“The prize is also meant to recognise all the stakeholders working for peace and reconciliation in Ethiopia and in the East and Northeast African regions,” they said.

“Peace does not arise from the actions of one party alone. When Prime Minister Abiy reached out his hand, President Afwerki grasped it, and helped to formalise the peace process between the two countries. The Norwegian Nobel Committee hopes the peace agreement will help to bring about positive change for the entire populations of Ethiopia and Eritrea.”

Other notable Nobel Peace Prize winners include former US President Jimmy Carter (2002), child education activist Malala Yousafzai (shared 2014), the European Union (2012), the United Nations and its then-general-secretary, Kofi Annan, (shared 2001) and Saint Teresa of Calcutta (1979).




Leave a Reply